Facebook is rolling out a new feature, which will finally allow users to edit their own posts. This means that if you spot an error after posting, you can make the edit and resave the post rather than having to delete the post and start it again. Other users will still be able to see all previous versions of your post, so they can still laugh at your error if it’s worthwhile.
The editing history is to ensure that “subsequent commenters or likers have the full context of the conversation.” That could change how people troll on Facebook then, although the traditional provocative response that then gets deleted should still work.
These changes are being rolled out now and will be available to everyone in the next few days. You can also edit old posts, rather than posts that are made from the time the changes are rolled out. If for some reason, you really want to change a post, you will be able to go back to any old posts and change them. Unlike deleting the comment and reposting, this will not result in people getting a notification.